The 4 A's of Grief Healing

simple healing tools Aug 07, 2018

We made it home after an epic trip that involved a two-year-old meltdown that shut down the airport security line and a bathroom escape that had me abandon our luggage and run through the airport with my pants down; but, we’re here, and it feels good to settle back in to our Santa Barbara home. I took a little time to manage the big transition and I thank you for your patience.

When I was back on Vancouver Island, I filmed several more videos including a full Yoga for Grief Program for More on that later…

But for now, I’d like to share a helpful tip from the Yoga for Grief program.

Grief healing is a tricky beast and there is no real ‘cure’ other than moving through it and integrating as you go, but there are things you can do to help. Which brings me to...

The 4 A’s of Grief Healing:

1. Awareness: This means bringing in an awareness of your grief. It means noticing where and how it is affecting you - and doing so with a sense of compassionate curiosity.

2. Acknowledgment: This means acknowledging your grief. It means saying, “I see you. I hear you, and I’m here for you.”

3. Allowance: This means allowing your grief. It means giving your grief space and allowing it move through you as it needs to.

4. Acceptance: This means accepting that you have grief that makes up a part of your wholeness. It means accepting yourself - grief and all.

The 4 A’s are a gift you can give yourself (and others) and I encourage you to do so - starting right now.

  • Which one resonates with you the most?
  • How can you gift yourself with it?

The 4 A’s are all forms of LOVE and remember, when you love yourself, you heal yourself...

With LOVE,

p.s. I also have a free video meditation called “The 4 A’s of Healing"  where you'll be guided to bring in awareness, acknowledgment, allowance and acceptance to all layers of yourself as a gentle way to elicit deep healing.  


Join my mailing list to receive tips, tools and inspiration to find inner peace - even when you're grieving. 



Receive tips, tools and inspiration to find inner peace - even when you're grieving.